Labor Advisory Committee

The Labor Center maintains a Labor Advisory Committee of labor leaders from across Iowa and the Midwest.  This Committee promotes ongoing dialogue between the university and the labor movement, offers guidance on keeping Labor Center education programs responsive to the interests of working people in Iowa, and promotes broader worker participation in UI educational programs. 

Members of the Labor Advisory Committee meet with Labor Center staff and UI College of Law representatives at least twice a year to review Labor Center activities, to evaluate proposals for course offerings and teaching innovations developed by Labor Center instructors, and to suggest and discuss relevant research projects.

Current Labor Advisory Committee members:

Stacey Andersen
Executive Officer, GMP Council, USW

Randy Boulton
Sub-District Director, USW District 11

Jesse Case
Secretary-Treasurer, IBT Local 238

Ernie Colt
President, Western Iowa Labor Federation, AFL-CIO

Mark Cooper
President, South Central Iowa Federation of Labor, AFL-CIO

Herb Copley
President, Iowa State Assoc. of Letter Carriers (NALC)

Greg Cross 
International Representative, UE

Bill Gerhard
President, Iowa State Building & Construction Trades Council

Robert Gilmore
Business Manager/Secretary-Treasurer, IUPAT District Council 81

Cathy Glasson
President, SEIU Local 199

Brad Greve
President, Great River Area Labor Federation, AFL-CIO

Roger Grobstich
International Representative, RWDSU

Becky Hawbaker
President, UNI United Faculty-AAUP

John Herrig
Directing Business Representative, IAM&AW District 6

Jerry Hobart
Business Manager, UA Local 125

Danny Homan
President, AFSCME Council 61

Gregg James
National Vice President, District 8, AFGE

Coy Marquardt
Assoc. Director for Affiliate Services, ISEA

Rafael Morataya
Executive Director, Center for Worker Justice

Rick Moyle
Executive Director, Hawkeye Area Labor Council, AFL-CIO

Doug Neys
President, Iowa Professional Fire Fighters

Brian Preminger 
President, Iowa Postal Workers Union (APWU)

Ken Sagar 
President, Iowa Federation of Labor, AFL-CIO

Brad Schwanda
International Representative and Region 4 Education Coordinator, UAW

Midge Slater
President, Iowa Alliance for Retired Americans

Lorri Walker
President, USW Local 444L

Bob Waters
Representative, UFCW Local 431

Patrick Wells
President, IBEW State Conference

Bonnie Winther
International Representative, CWA

Charlie Wishman
Secretary-Treasurer, Iowa Federation of Labor, AFL-CIO

Kevin Washburn (ex officio member)
N. Wiliam Hines Dean and Professor of Law, Univ. of Iowa College of Law